2010 Green Books Campaign-Because All Is Not Lost: Verse on Grief

So first of all, go check out ecolibris.net because they support a super awesome cause.  I’m a total treehugger and often feel guilty about the number of books I own.  Those were once trees.  Beautiful, big, old-growth trees.  This campaign is a way to educate book readers on the eco-friendly book options out there.  They feature books printed with recyclable and renewable resources.

The book I requested and read was a book of poetry by Sweta Srivastava Vikram, titled Because All is not lost: Verse on grief.

Because all is not lost: Verse on grief (World Voices)
This collection of poems is short, only about 25 pages long, but it is also very powerful.  Anyone who has ever experienced the loss of a loved one needs to read this.  I lost my dad two years ago, and reading these poems, it was like Vikram’s feelings were my own.  I connected with every one of them and reread them each many times over.  I am a huge poetry fan, but haven’t read any since my Poetry 101 class last semester, which was pretty much the “class from Hell”.  (Or so I thought until an awful class this semester)  Reading the beautiful poems in this collection was so refreshing after not reading poetry for so long (and reading poetry I absolutely detested in my poetry class..).  Vikram’s prose are gorgeous and flow effortlessly.  I know this is a short and sweet review, but it’s hard to write a lot about a short little poetry collection that makes a hell of an impact. 
Just take my word for it and read it!  There weren’t any poems I didn’t like.  I loved them all, and I definitely want to read more by Sweta Srivastava Vikram.
For more info on the Green Books Campaign, go here.  For more info on Sweta Srivastava Vikram, go here.

About Kelly

Hi! My name’s Kelly. I’m a twenty-something gal from Buffalo, NY. Mom to a little dog named Peabody and a slightly evil cat named Archie. Engaged to the best dude ever. I love books and craft beer! I also love all things France and francophone and have a degree in French Language and Literature from Buffalo State College. My blog used to be called Kelly’s France Blog, but I finally decided it needed a change because I wasn’t posting about French things nearly as often as I used to! You can still see all my imported posts on A Book and a Beer, or you can visit my original blog at http://kellysfranceblog.blogspot.com.
This entry was posted in green books, poetry, vikram. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 2010 Green Books Campaign-Because All Is Not Lost: Verse on Grief

  1. readerbuzz says:

    There is nothing like poetry. I say, Let's get rid of all the textbooks in the world and replace them with poetry. And then let's see what happens!

    My Green review is here:
    http://readerbuzz.blogspot.com/2010/11/green-books-campaign-stuff-reduce-reuse.html

    I hope you will stop by.

  2. I love poetry too (as you may be able to guess from my name!)

  3. Sheery says:

    How fantastic! I had no idea there was a Green Books Campaign! Thanks for posting about it.

  4. Serena says:

    stopping by from another stop on the tour….I reviewed this poetry chapbook in August: http://savvyverseandwit.com/2010/08/because-all-is-not-lost-by-sweta-srivastava-vikram.html

    I really loved it and the connection you could make so easily with her verse. She does have another book out, if you are interested, “Kaliedoscope: An Asian Journey of Colors”

  5. It was very interesting to read about this in your article. blood pressure

  6. Anonymous says:

    It was very interesting to read about this in your article. blood pressure

Leave a comment