Review: Stepping to a New Day by Beverly Jenkins

stepping to a new daytour hostHere’s the Goodreads.com description:

In Henry Adams, Kansas, you can’t start over without stirring things up . . .

Many a good woman has had to leave a no-good man, but how many of them took a back-seat to his 600-lb. hog? On her own for the first time, Genevieve Gibbs is ecstatic, even if certain people preferred the doormat version of Ms. Gibbs. Finding someone who appreciates the “new” her has only just hit Gen’s to-do list when T.C. Barbour appears in her life.

A tiny Kansas town is a far cry from his native Oakland, California, but it’s just the change T. C. needs. While helping his divorced nephew acclimate to single fatherhood, T. C. lands a gig driving a limo for the most powerful woman in Henry Adams. It’s a great way to meet people—and one in particular has already made the job worthwhile. All it takes is a short trip from the airport for Genevieve to snag T.C.’s attention for good.

But it wouldn’t be Henry Adams without adding more drama to the mix. When Gen’s ex Riley returns with his hog in tow, it sets off a chain of events that can ruin everything—unless the residents pull together once again to save the day.

First Impressions: I had high hopes for this, since I’ve heard so much praise for Beverly Jenkins. This was my first time reading anything by her.

Final Thoughts: Loved it just as much as I had hoped.

Favorite Part: It was exactly what I needed right now. I’ve been busy with my sister’s wedding, and now that it’s over, I wanted a nice “feel good” book. That’s what I got with Stepping to a New Day.  It has it’s darker parts-there are people who have had to deal with losing loved ones, bad relationships, and inner demons. But it leaves you with a nice warm feeling inside. Perfect for a summer beach read, if you like your beach reads to be fun and refreshing and not too dense. I’m so glad I took a chance with this book, and can’t wait to read more by Beverly Jenkins.

Goes well with: Any sort of summer shandy beer. Something light and fruity on a hot day.

Title: Stepping to a New Day
Author: Beverly Jenkins
Date of Publication: 2016
Genre: Fiction
Source: TLC Tours

About Kelly

Hi! My name’s Kelly. I’m a twenty-something gal from Buffalo, NY. Mom to a little dog named Peabody and a slightly evil cat named Archie. Engaged to the best dude ever. I love books and craft beer! I also love all things France and francophone and have a degree in French Language and Literature from Buffalo State College. My blog used to be called Kelly’s France Blog, but I finally decided it needed a change because I wasn’t posting about French things nearly as often as I used to! You can still see all my imported posts on A Book and a Beer, or you can visit my original blog at http://kellysfranceblog.blogspot.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Review: Stepping to a New Day by Beverly Jenkins

  1. Pingback: Beverly Jenkins, author of Stepping to a New Day, on tour June/July 2016 | TLC Book Tours

  2. Don’t you just love it when a book is exactly what you need when you need it? What a treat!

    Thanks for being a part of the tour.

Leave a comment