Review: The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

girl on trainHere’s the description from Goodreads.com:

A debut psychological thriller that will forever change the way you look at other people’s lives.

Rachel takes the same commuter train every morning. Every day she rattles down the track, flashes past a stretch of cozy suburban homes, and stops at the signal that allows her to daily watch the same couple breakfasting on their deck. She’s even started to feel like she knows them. “Jess and Jason,” she calls them. Their life—as she sees it—is perfect. Not unlike the life she recently lost.

And then she sees something shocking. It’s only a minute until the train moves on, but it’s enough. Now everything’s changed. Unable to keep it to herself, Rachel offers what she knows to the police, and becomes inextricably entwined in what happens next, as well as in the lives of everyone involved. Has she done more harm than good?

Compulsively readable, The Girl on the Train is an emotionally immersive, Hitchcockian thriller and an electrifying debut.

I’m going to try to keep this review short and sweet because there is so much out there about this book already and I’m sure many of them share my opinion.

I read this for one of my book clubs, and I’m glad that it was chosen because I probably wouldn’t have read it for a long time.  I tend to shy away from books that are super hyped up.  Not because I think the hype isn’t deserved, just because sometimes I honestly get sick of hearing about the book.

Anyway, this ended up being a great read.  I know it was compared to Gone Girl, and that does make sense, with the whole unreliable narrator thing.  But I ADORED Gone Girl, this one I just really liked.

The story caught my attention immediately, and I felt for Rachel.  I am 100% that person who would be sitting on the train watching people through the window and making up stories about them.  Though Rachel is a bit vulnerable and gets a bit attached to the stories she’s made up.  As the story progresses, I loved seeing how Rachel dealt with everything.  She’s obviously got issues, and I love a main character with plenty of faults.

I don’t want to say much more about the story because I might accidentally give something away, so I’ll end here.  I definitely recommend this one though!

Title: The Girl on the Train
Author: Paula Hawkins
Date of Publication: 2015
Genre: Fiction
Source: Personal Copy

About Kelly

Hi! My name’s Kelly. I’m a twenty-something gal from Buffalo, NY. Mom to a little dog named Peabody and a slightly evil cat named Archie. Engaged to the best dude ever. I love books and craft beer! I also love all things France and francophone and have a degree in French Language and Literature from Buffalo State College. My blog used to be called Kelly’s France Blog, but I finally decided it needed a change because I wasn’t posting about French things nearly as often as I used to! You can still see all my imported posts on A Book and a Beer, or you can visit my original blog at http://kellysfranceblog.blogspot.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

