Review: Paris, My Sweet: A Year in the City of Light (and Dark Chocolate) by Amy Thomas

paris my sweetHere’s the description from Goodreads.com:

Part love letter to New York, part love letter to Paris, and total devotion to all things sweet. Paris, My Sweet is a personal and moveable feast that’s a treasure map for anyone who loves fresh cupcakes and fine chocolate, New York and Paris, and life in general. It’s about how the search for happiness can be as fleeting as a sliver of cheesecake and about how the life you’re meant to live doesn’t always taste like the one you envisioned. Organized into a baker’s dozen of delicacies (and the adventures they inspired) that will tempt readers’ appetites, Paris, My Sweet is something to savor.

I cannot get enough memoirs about moving to France.  They are so captivating, and in a way I guess I’m living variously through the author.  Thomas got the opportunity of a lifetime when she accepted a job as a copy editor in Paris.

I LOVED reading all about Thomas’ escapades trying all the sweets and chocolates in both Paris and New York City.  She obviously has experience writing about food, because I found myself salivating way more often than I should have.  Chocolate in Paris?  Moist, perfectly frosted cupcakes in New York?  Yes please!

Thomas wrote a lot about her conflicting feelings with living abroad, and I feel like this is a common thing for ex-pats.  I know it would gnaw at me if I lived abroad again.  Thomas LOVED living in Paris.  Everything about it was amazing.  But she also found herself homesick for New York.  When she was back in New York, she was homesick for Paris.  I know that feeling.  Even though I only lived in France for 4 months, I often get pangs of homesickness.  But I also know that if I lived there now, I’d miss Buffalo like crazy.  What a dilemma!

All in all, if you are like me and love a good memoir about living in France, give this one a try.  If sweets aren’t your thing, you might get a bit bored at times.  But it’s not just about taste testing.  Thomas is going through a life crisis throughout the book.  Go to Paris?  Stay in NY?  Then stay in Paris or return to NY?  Then there’s the age old question.  Should I start thinking about kids?  Should I freeze some eggs?  Should I start looking for any old partner so I can have a kid?  Should I be childless?

As someone who has known for most of my life that I never want kids, it was interesting to see Thomas’ train of thought through all this.  Kids had always been an afterthought, barely lingering in the back of the mind, but once the clock starts ticking, decisions need to be made.

A great read, and a great way to get my Paris fix!

Title: Paris, My Sweet: A Year in the City of Light (and Dark Chocolate)
Author: Amy Thomas
Date of Publication: 2012
Genre: Nonfiction
Source: Personal Copy

About Kelly

Hi! My name’s Kelly. I’m a twenty-something gal from Buffalo, NY. Mom to a little dog named Peabody and a slightly evil cat named Archie. Engaged to the best dude ever. I love books and craft beer! I also love all things France and francophone and have a degree in French Language and Literature from Buffalo State College. My blog used to be called Kelly’s France Blog, but I finally decided it needed a change because I wasn’t posting about French things nearly as often as I used to! You can still see all my imported posts on A Book and a Beer, or you can visit my original blog at http://kellysfranceblog.blogspot.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

