Review: Beauty by Nancy Butcher

beautyHere’s the description from Goodreads.com:

Ana is nothing like her glamorous mother, Queen Veda, whose hair is black as ravens and whose lips are red as roses. Alas, Queen Veda loathes anyone whose beauty dares to rival her own—including her only daughter. And despite Ana’s attempts to be plain and earn her mother’s affection, she’s sent away to the kingdom’s exclusive boarding school.

At the Academy, Ana is devastated when her only friend abandons her for the popular girls. Isolated and alone, Ana resolves to look like a true princess to earn the acceptance she desires. But when she uncovers the dangerous secret that makes all of the girls at the Academy so gorgeous, just how far will Ana go to fit in?

My little sister lent this to me at least 2 years ago and I just finally got around to reading it.  I really liked it!  It’s not something I would have normally picked up on my own.

I don’t know if it was meant to be like a rewrite of Snow White?  That that’s what it reminded me off.  To an extent.  It was far darker, in my opinion, than the Snow White I’m familiar with.

Ana, the princess of Ran, will do anything to stay in her mother’s favor- so much so that once she realizes the extent of her mother’s jealousy (Ana is growing into an even more beautiful woman that the queen is), she does everything possible to make herself ugly.

When her mom sends her to a prestigious school in the mountains that suspiciously has only beautiful girls as students, Ana of course becomes suspicious herself.  Things are not as they seem and Ana is forced to deal with a lot of shit about herself and about her mother.

In the end, I think this book is a great reminder of what the true costs of beauty and peer pressure and everything can really be.

Title: Beauty
Author: Nancy Butcher
Date of Publication: 2005
Genre: Fiction, YA
Source: Borrowed from little sis

 

About Kelly

Hi! My name’s Kelly. I’m a twenty-something gal from Buffalo, NY. Mom to a little dog named Peabody and a slightly evil cat named Archie. Engaged to the best dude ever. I love books and craft beer! I also love all things France and francophone and have a degree in French Language and Literature from Buffalo State College. My blog used to be called Kelly’s France Blog, but I finally decided it needed a change because I wasn’t posting about French things nearly as often as I used to! You can still see all my imported posts on A Book and a Beer, or you can visit my original blog at http://kellysfranceblog.blogspot.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

