Review: Beloved by Toni Morrison

belovedHere’s the description from Goodreads.com:

Staring unflinchingly into the abyss of slavery, this spellbinding novel transforms history into a story as powerful as Exodus and as intimate as a lullaby.

Sethe was born a slave and escaped to Ohio, but eighteen years later she is still not free. She has too many memories of Sweet Home, the beautiful farm where so many hideous things happened. Her new home is haunted by the ghost of her baby, who died nameless and whose tombstone is engraved with a single word: Beloved.

Filled with bitter poetry and suspense as taut as a rope, Beloved is a towering achievement by Nobel Prize laureate Toni Morrison.

Beloved was my first experience with Toni Morrison, and I’m hitting myself for waiting so long to read it.

The beginning was a bit hard for me to get into. Much of it is written in vernacular (the dialog, and parts where certain characters narrate), and I have to admit, it was frustrating to read at first. Only because I had to read slower than my usual pace. But once I got further into the story, I got used to it and really enjoyed the rest of the book. The writing (those descriptions of everything!) is gorgeous.

For instance:

Page 152: Down came the dry flakes, fat enough and heavy enough to crash like nickels on stone. It always surprised him, how quiet it was. Not like rain, but like a secret.

That is the most perfect description of snow. I’d like a needlepoint of that to hang on my wall every winter please.

This is not always the easiest book to read. Sethe’s story is tragic and horrifying at times. It’s crazy to think that this was a normal thing for people, slaves, to have to endure. But Sethe has survived. She has scars, but she also has her family.

Here’s my other favorite quote from the book:

Page 55: “Sethe, if I’m here with you, with Denver, you can go anywhere you want. Jump, if you want to, ’cause I’ll catch you, girl. I’ll catch you ‘fore you fall.”

Title: Beloved
Author: Toni Morrison
Date of Publication: 1987
Genre: Fiction
Source: Personal Copy

About Kelly

Hi! My name’s Kelly. I’m a twenty-something gal from Buffalo, NY. Mom to a little dog named Peabody and a slightly evil cat named Archie. Engaged to the best dude ever. I love books and craft beer! I also love all things France and francophone and have a degree in French Language and Literature from Buffalo State College. My blog used to be called Kelly’s France Blog, but I finally decided it needed a change because I wasn’t posting about French things nearly as often as I used to! You can still see all my imported posts on A Book and a Beer, or you can visit my original blog at http://kellysfranceblog.blogspot.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Review: Beloved by Toni Morrison

  1. Emily @ Books, the Universe & Everything says:

    I keep seeing Toni Morrison’s new book everywhere and feeling really dumb that I’ve never read any of her books! I was thinking of starting with Beloved too. Glad you enjoyed it, I will hopefully be reading it soon as well!

Leave a Reply

