Notes on Reading 5/24/15

I spent the morning pulling up ivy vines that grew into our yard from the neighbor’s house. It is crazy how that shit grows. I had to pull feet of it from the lawn. This is going to be a yearly struggle because I will not have that stuff growing into my foundation or siding.

It’s been a crazy good reading week for me.

I finished: Please Ignore Vera Dietz and stayed up way past my bedtime to do it. It was so good. Why did I wait so long to read it?? I also finally finished Broken Monsters by Lauren Beukes and Louise Erdrich’s Tracks.

Comics-wise: I read issues 1 and 2 of Bitch Planet and am now officially hooked. On the series and on Comixology. I LOVE the essays at the end of each issue.

I am currently reading: The Fault in Our Stars by John Green (I’ve had it for ages but all the hype made me keep putting it off). It’s a super quick read so I’ll probably be finished with it by tomorrow.

This week I plan on starting: The Professor and the Madman. I wanted to start it last week but didn’t end up getting it in the mail until yesterday!

Also I went book shopping yesterday because I had a 20% coupon from Barnes and Noble. So I got The Thing Around Your Neck by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie. I believe it’s a short story collection? I can’t wait to read that one!

A happy long weekend to anyone who’s off tomorrow! Are you doing any yard work this weekend? Wow being an adult is so much fun.

About Kelly

Hi! My name’s Kelly. I’m a twenty-something gal from Buffalo, NY. Mom to a little dog named Peabody and a slightly evil cat named Archie. Engaged to the best dude ever. I love books and craft beer! I also love all things France and francophone and have a degree in French Language and Literature from Buffalo State College. My blog used to be called Kelly’s France Blog, but I finally decided it needed a change because I wasn’t posting about French things nearly as often as I used to! You can still see all my imported posts on A Book and a Beer, or you can visit my original blog at http://kellysfranceblog.blogspot.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Notes on Reading 5/24/15

  1. We’ve had yard work in our plans for weeks now but the rain hasn’t let up long enough to really get to it. We’ve got a BIG garden. We tilled in compost and the plants are ready to go in but it’s been pouring daily here. As soon as it stops for more than a minute we’ll be doing that (and I’ll have to weed the beds we aren’t using, too).

  2. Heather says:

    Kelly – we haven’t done nearly as much yard work as needs to be done. But how can we when we’ve had such lovely weekends? My patio set screams my name and I can’t resist sitting out in the sunlight with a beer in my hand and a puppy at my feet!!

Leave a Reply

