Review: Bad Feminist by Roxane Gay

bad feministHere’s the description from Goodreads.com:

A collection of essays spanning politics, criticism, and feminism from one of the most-watched young cultural observers of her generation, Roxane Gay.

Pink is my favorite color. I used to say my favorite color was black to be cool, but it is pink—all shades of pink. If I have an accessory, it is probably pink. I read Vogue, and I’m not doing it ironically, though it might seem that way. I once live-tweeted the September issue.”

In these funny and insightful essays, Roxane Gay takes us through the journey of her evolution as a woman (Sweet Valley High) of color (The Help) while also taking readers on a ride through culture of the last few years (Girls, Django in Chains) and commenting on the state of feminism today (abortion, Chris Brown). The portrait that emerges is not only one of an incredibly insightful woman continually growing to understand herself and our society, but also one of our culture.

Bad Feminist is a sharp, funny, and spot-on look at the ways in which the culture we consume becomes who we are, and an inspiring call-to-arms of all the ways we still need to do better.

I’m going to keep this super short and sweet because so many people have already reviewed this book and said all the things about it.

It is fantastic.  I read an essay or two every night for maybe a week?  This book is raw and smart and at times very hard to read.  But it needs to be read.  If you are a woman, if you are a man, it doesn’t matter.  It’s an important book.  I found myself nodding as I read this, stopping and thinking about what Gay had written.  I few times I had to stop to have conversations with the boyfriend about certain passages.  It makes you think and it makes you feel.

Hands down this book has made an impact on my life and the way I think and act.  You need to read it if you haven’t yet.  I would list some of my favorite passages, but I lent the book to the little sister so I don’t have it right in front of me.

Have you read Bad Feminist?

Title: Bad Feminist
Author: Roxane Gay
Date of Publication: 2014
Genre: Nonfiction, essays
Source: Personal Copy

About Kelly

Hi! My name’s Kelly. I’m a twenty-something gal from Buffalo, NY. Mom to a little dog named Peabody and a slightly evil cat named Archie. Engaged to the best dude ever. I love books and craft beer! I also love all things France and francophone and have a degree in French Language and Literature from Buffalo State College. My blog used to be called Kelly’s France Blog, but I finally decided it needed a change because I wasn’t posting about French things nearly as often as I used to! You can still see all my imported posts on A Book and a Beer, or you can visit my original blog at http://kellysfranceblog.blogspot.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

