Notes on Reading 3/15/15

Not a whole lot going on right now.  It’s finally warming up!!  Today was 35F which felt like shorts weather.  The boyfriend and I are working on getting the rental unit ready for renters.  New carpet this week!  First we have to finish removing the old staples from the old carpet.  Then we will have to install the laminate in the front room.  Then we have to paint.  Then we have some minor repairs to make and then we need to appliances AND THEN WE CAN RENT IT OUT!

Whew.  This grown up thing is a lot of work.

Currently I’m reading: A Rogue by Any Other Name by Sarah MacLean.  I’m almost done with it but I can’t seem to be able to just sit down and finish it.  Especially this weekend.  I’ve had plans all weekend which is not like me at all.  Also I’m almost finished with Book Club #1’s current read, There Was and There Was Not by Meline Toumani.  It is fantastic and I’m kind of sad to be finishing it.  Today I’ll also be starting the book for Book Club #2 (aka my work book club), and that is The Alphabet House by Jussi Adler-Olsen.  A few people have read it so far and it seems like there were mixed feelings, with some people loving it and some people not really liking it at all.  So we’ll see!  I’m sure the differences of opinion will make for some great discussions though!

This week I finished: The Book of Strange New Things by Michel Faber.  I have to say, when I started it I wasn’t sure if it was going to hold my attention the whole way through.  But I think that was mostly because I was reading a bit here, a bit there.  I sat down to read the last hundred or so pages the other night and was blown away.  It was much more than just a space/alien book.

Comics: I’m sad to report that I’m on a book/comics buying ban until further notice.  Because, ya know, grown up stuff like house renovations.  And unlike my never ending book collection, I don’t own very many comics yet!  I’ve read them all.  I’ll have to make due with just regular old books until further notice.

Happy reading this week!

About Kelly

Hi! My name’s Kelly. I’m a twenty-something gal from Buffalo, NY. Mom to a little dog named Peabody and a slightly evil cat named Archie. Engaged to the best dude ever. I love books and craft beer! I also love all things France and francophone and have a degree in French Language and Literature from Buffalo State College. My blog used to be called Kelly’s France Blog, but I finally decided it needed a change because I wasn’t posting about French things nearly as often as I used to! You can still see all my imported posts on A Book and a Beer, or you can visit my original blog at http://kellysfranceblog.blogspot.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

